Changes.

I’m usually quoting or using something that Kanye has said, but I’m upset with him right now.  So, to quote Jay-Z, “Everybody look at you strange, say you changed. Like you work that hard to stay the same. ” You don’t have to be a Jay Z fan to have heard of it because people have been using that as their Facebook and Instagram caption for years. I used to roll my eyes, but then growth happened.

It’s true though.

I’ve lived in two major cities since  leaving Ohio in 2011 and they both have shaped me in different ways. I used to hate when people said I was different, or changed, because it was always meant to be something negative. Now? I love it. People say it all the time, and for the most part, assure me that it’s a great thing. Those that don’t like it? I don’t know. New York has given me such a different look at everything, so yeah, I’m changing – or is it just that my views are changing?

Honestly, though?

I’m still growing. Still figuring myself out, “finding myself”. I used to roll my eyes when people said that, too. Again, growth. There’s really no other way to describe when you’re investing in yourself and figuring out what brings you joy and doing just that, all the time. I’m currently reading Oprah’s book, “What I Know For Sure”, and she talks about “5 Star Pleasures”. Like, rating the things that you love to do 1-5, and really seeking out those 5 stars. Some of my 4 and 5 stars, in no special order, are:

Writing

Laughing

Making it through another day so that I can thank God for said day

Travelling

Being Free

The last one is pretty subjective. That’s the thing. It really depends on the day, the month, or the environment I’m in that will dictate what means being free for me. I just have to learn to not let others judge what my “freedom” looks like. Like any other work in progress, I’m getting there. 😉

Until Next Time… #VisionBoardLiving

Leave a comment