Solo Trippin’ – Charlotte, NC.

Solo trips are so good for the soul. 

I didn’t know anyone who went on solo trips when I took my first one to Miami a few years ago. I just got tired of waiting on people to decide they wanted to go on these trips with me.

Coincidentally, those are the same ones that say, “You shouldn’t go on that trip by yourself, anything can happen”. While this is VERY true, we live in times where you can’t go to the movie theater, church, or even stand in your own backyard without getting gunned down. I’ll take “Living my life, while also being cautious.” for $1000, Alex.

Anyway…

Solo trips are my favorite. You get to choose where you want to go with no input from anyone. You can plan the whole thing minute by minute, or you can just book a flight and lodging with no plans. The latter is my personal preference. Whichever one you choose, you don’t have to consult anyone about that choice. My only regret is that I wish I would have done it sooner. 

Solo trips give me time to just reflect. Think. Take time to myself away from my daily life. I try to stay away from social media and texting as much as possible (I’m not at the point where I can unplug all the way yet). Either way, I get a nice recharge mentally. You can literally do a solo trip anywhere. It doesn’t have to be a tourist site.

I recently went to Charlotte, NC (my third solo trip). I went during the last few days of Lent (for which I gave up fried food and alcohol). I managed to avoid both in the South. Can I get my gold medal now? I, of course, did a search of different BBQ spots and major landmarks that I should visit, but I didn’t make an itinerary. I stayed for 3 days and 2 nights and actually got a lot done, while also being able to relax. 

When I flew in, I got off the plane and googled a breakfast spot. Within 5 minutes, I was on my way to Tryon House Restaurant, which is a family owned restaurant not too far from the airport. First of all, looking at the menu, I forgot how cheap it could be to live. I got all of the below for under $10! That barely gets you a drink in NYC.

Food.jpg

I left there and headed to Uptown, which is basically Downtown Charlotte, to get a pedicure at The Daily Details. They were able to take me right away, and had a great playlist going in the background by the way. Whenever I travel to different areas (even though it was just as cold in Charlotte as it was in NY), my skin reacts terribly so I called around to spas for a facial. Of course, all booked. So, I went to the Levine Museum of the New South. There was an exhibit titled “K(NO)W Justice K(NO)W Peace” that I wanted to check out. 

I had been on the move since I got there so I went to the movies, it always calms me (when there’s not an ocean/lake/body of water nearby). If you haven’t seen A Wrinkle In Time, you should. The little boy who plays the brother?! I can’t wait to see what he does next, he was amazing!

I hit up a BBQ spot and headed to my AirBnB. The next day I chilled for the morning, ordered food in, and caught a basketball game in the evening. The Knicks (Yeah, they followed me there :p ) vs. The Hornets. Knicks lost, in OT, so I can’t be TOO upset. It’s a little “tradition” that I started during my last solo trip in Orlando. I got some amazing seats for $60 and I didn’t buy the tickets until the day of.

The next morning I went to visit a plantation. It wasn’t that much to see since I couldn’t take the guided tour, plus there was a school there so the main house I was not able to tour. Timing wasn’t on my side for this, but I was still able to explore on my own.

Overall, I enjoyed this solo trip. It was at a time where I really needed to get away. I never “plan” when I’m going to do a solo trip. Since all of them have been domestic, it’s really when I’m feeling overwhelmed and need to get away. It always works out. Next, I’m thinking a solo international trip. Either way, can’t wait to enjoy my own company when life gets a little crazy!

Until Next Time… #VisionBoardLiving

Leave a comment