Thank you for being a friend!

So, I’m a Golden Girls fan. I could literally watch that show everyday for the rest of my life. So, when I heard there was going to be a GG themed cafe, I made the trek to Washington Heights (a long way from Brooklyn by train) to see what it was about.



Picture it…NYC 2017.

It’s called Rue La Rue Cafe and I loved it!! It is pretty small, like everywhere else in NY, so don’t let that scare you off. It was a soft-opening when I went but SO packed. They had a lot of Rue McClanahan’s (AKA Blanche) clothing and memorabilia so it was kind of centered off of her. A close friend of hers, Michael LaRue, is a co-owner.

I’m not ashamed to say that I’m not a big cheesecake fan, BUT I did get the chocolate cheesecake with a Bellini – both were good! While in line (you didn’t think you could just walk right in, right?), Michael came out with one of their signature items – buttermilk biscuits with strawberry butter. Let’s just say, I took some home. 😋


Oh, and in case you didn’t think this place could get any better, they play Golden Girls episodes ALL. DAY. LONG. Well…duh!

I’ll definitely be back this summer, when I’m prepared to stand in line outside. 😫

Wallpaper just like in the show!
Look familiar? Yep, it’s just like the girls’ bathroom!

Leave a comment